Richard Doron Johnson

October 3, 2006

The Best Urban Marathon in the Country

Filed under: Life on the Road — rjjazz @ 3:45 am

When I first heard this I was like “Whatever.” I read these same type of quotes all the time in Running magazines. This past weekend I spent three days in the Twin Cities, maily St. Paul, MN. I went there to run my fastest time covering 26.2 miles and that is exactly what I did. Upon arriving there I felt like I was in a movie or something. Everything was so pretty it looked fake with all the leaves on the trees turning colors, wonderful running and biking parks, and Truman story like people. I fell in love with this city immediately. I began to wonder if I could live here it was so nice. Then one of the natives reminded me to come back in 3 weeks and see if I would still be thinking the same thing. Any way, back to the real reason I am writing about this adventure. I came to run the Twin Cities marathon. I had heard a lot about it from friends of mine who had run but I had to see it for myself. When I got to the city I remembered one of my running buddies was flying in from atlanta,ga to run so I called her and we meet up at the expo to pick up our numbers. She is a veteran runner and this would be her 16 marathon and I was just trying to learn from her. After getting our numbers a group of us went out to drive the course and see what we were going to be dealing with in the morning. We were all shocked at how beautiful the course was. The majority of it was flat except for the long 1.5mile hill at mile 21 that I had heard about from everyone. Fortunatly, when I hit that part of the race I started to pick up speed when everyone else was walking. This was a true indication that all the 20mile runs I did over the past 4 months paid off. This was my best time ever and I feel I can go faster if I train for it again. By the end of the day I was pleased with the job I had done. Let me give a shout out to Harry Brull for hooking me up with a place to stay right on the course at mile 22.5. You know, it is funny about all the things you think about during a 3:32hr run. After all that running and thinking, when I crossed the finish line the first thought I had was ” I want to go fast!(Ricky Bobby)”
www.twincititesmarathon.com

1 Comment »

  1. […] Your running gyal, Adrienne P.S. Read Richard’s thoughts about Twin Cities marathon at his blog. […]

    Pingback by adrienne-is » Blog Archive » Twin Cities Marathon Weekend — October 9, 2006 @ 2:19 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

