Richard Doron Johnson

October 18, 2006

Yellowstone I Long to Hear You!

Filed under: Uncategorized — rjjazz @ 2:59 am

Established in 1872, Yellowstone National Park is America’s first national park. Located in Wyoming, Montana, and Idaho it is home to a large variety of wildlife including grizzly bears, wolves, bison, and elk. Preserved within Yellowstone National Park are Old Faithful and a collection of the world’s most extraordinary geysers and hot springs, and the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone.

It is amazing what a few hours of sleep does for me. Most people say I don’t sleep enough but I automatically wake up when the some comes up. Well today was no different and I was up and off to do what Jackson has to offer. First I went for a short run of 40 minutes to see what Jackson looked like first hand. During my run I saw the local high school along with a few other local merchants Most of the run was on a bike path that I ran into just short of a mile. This path was wonderful and totally gives South Dakota’s 20 mile running route a run for its money. It was very scenic as if I was watching a 4D movie and I was the main actor. The mountains were right in front of me with snow covering them and the horses were on the ranch waiting to be set free. It was rather cold though up here at 6200 feet altitude.

It has been awhile since I have been in this kind of coldness (26 degrees) and it has me thinking about wether I really want to spend another winter in the cold.

After this amazing sight seeing run was over I decided it was time to visit Yellowstone National park.
The drive is 55 miles to the entrance of the park and then once you get in the park you can drive 142 miles just in the park. On the way to the national park I saw this Jackson airport sign and had to take a photo in front of it for no reason at all!

This park is truley amazing. If you have never seen it or have only seen it on tv you are really missing the point.

You have to go and see all the lakes, rivers, water falls, geysers, animals, plants, and people. That is right, I said people. You meet the most interesting people traveling across the world. Most of the people I have met are trying to do the same thing as me so it opens up conversations pretty easily. For instance, today I meet a young couple from New York city of all places traveling around the U.S.A. seeing what they have heard about first hand. Next I meet a man and his wife from Southern Illinois. He was standing there waiting to see a Moose because he missed seeing one last week when he came through to visit So he decided to come back and stand and wait until he saw one (his wife was sitting warmly in the car). Now don’t forget by now it was about 36 degress, 1:30pm and the wind wasn’t being that friendly. I also bumped into another couple in their 60’s from Manitoba Canada waiting to see “Old Faithful” erupt. He began talking about how this weather wasn’t that could compared to where he was from. I just looked at him and I agreed with everything he had to say because it was too cold for me to disagree and have to really explain why I did.

Another piece of interesting information to add to all this is that 97% of 3 million people in one year come to visit this park during the summer. This means if you come when it is warmer you might not see what you intend to see because there will be on average 25,000 people around waiting to see what ever it is your waiting to see too. So realistically even though it is a bit colder in October, at least you will have no lines to wait in and no traffic on your way out.

During the visit today I realized that you could spend 12 hours a day for 5 days in Yellowstone National Park if you really wanted to see everything. This is a bit much for me but I know what it has to offer first hand since I have been there and I am sure I will make it back here sooner rather than later.

3 Comments »

  1. […] P.S. Need a second take on the park? Read Richrad’s blog – he’s addicted now. […]

    Pingback by adrienne-is » Blog Archive » Out Yonder in Yellowstone — October 18, 2006 @ 5:40 am

  2. I skiied down one of those mountains in Jackson Hole!

    Comment by Elise — October 18, 2006 @ 4:13 pm

  3. Hey, Buddy! I miss you! Why don’t you and Adrienne journey through Arkansas? I would LOVE to see you both and have you meet my family.

    Illene

    Comment by Illene Stewart — October 31, 2006 @ 2:19 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

