Richard Doron Johnson

February 17, 2007

Sneak-A-Peaka-Costa-Rica

Filed under: Uncategorized — rjjazz @ 2:03 am

This past week I spent 5 complete days in Costa Rica. This trip had long been awaiting me since this was the only country in Central and South America that I had not been too. Most of what I had heard about this country is that it was beautiful and filled with tourist. Let me not be the first to tell you that this is the truth! From the moment you arrive at the airport gate you see nothing but Americans and Canadians. You really would think you were going to Toronto if you did not look at your boarding pass.

The flight down to San Jose was just shy of 4 hours long and was a completely full flight (doesn’t help I went on a Saturday either). Upon arriving the terminal had a Disney like feel too it. I was not expecting to enter into the country in this fun filled environment. It does all change the moment you go outside. Immediately, the feeling of Central America could be heard and felt. The first phrase I heard was “Taxi man you need a Taxi come with me! Upon arriving at the first hotel which was not in the greatest part of town I set out to go find a place to run. After asking the gentleman at the front desk which way was best to go it was time to run. Below you can see some of the sites that I saw during my healthy joint pounding adventure.

The second evening of my stay a nice couple introduced themselves that was in town touring along with their friends who have a great band called ” Vegitation” from San Diego,CA. During dinner with them they explained how the band received a major shock upon arriving at the venue in San Jose. The festival was canceled during their flight over because the new mayor pulled all the permits out from all local music once he got elected. Which means the promoter lost lots of money since he fitted the bill to bring a whole festivals worth of bands to the country for the week. At the very last minute though the musicians found a small place to perform and proceded in a different location. If you don’t know this band check them out. You will be shocked at what they do so well!

http://www.vegitationmusic.com

On the third day it was time to set off to Puerto Viejo. This was a great spot because there was not a lot of tourist and it was heavily influenced by Jamaica. After spending two days of walking in circles (while looking at the locals watch how many revolutions each tourist can make of the 800meter city) I definitely had my fill of the heat and the beach so it was time to head back to the big city of San Jose. Upon arriving back in San Jose I realized that this city really did not impress me after giving it a second look and try. I understand why tourist love coming here though because it is extremely safe, inexpensive and the beaches don’t get crowded. So, if your looking for a vacation from work and just want to hang on the beach without being disturbed, come here. But if your looking for an awesome time in the night life of a big city, I think your best off creating your own party or going to another country.

Here are a few photos that I took during my trip.

null

null
Teatro Nacional Still Stands!

null
One of the numerous statues commemorating the cities birth

null
I just like this building so I photoed it!


Avenida Central

null
New Local artist displayed in front of the main Catholic Church

null
Inside the museum we can see how coffee beans used to be made with this machine.

null
City View

null
On top of the world I stand!

null
Directions to one of the many spots near the beach.

null
One short road to mankind

null
This is for all those artsy photo takers out there looking at this!

null
Night life Gone 6am!

null
Last but not least the park I would run through everyday in San Jose.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

