Richard Doron Johnson

April 4, 2007

Lets go!

Filed under: Uncategorized — rjjazz @ 4:59 pm

Here we go again and I am back on the road. Wait a minute, did I ever come off the road. Well I guess not! This past week started with me performing at Grovsner hall at the Smithsonian in Washington D.C. with my Hip Hop band AFAR. This was a great pleasure because we all got see family and friends. The next morning (March 31st) at 5 30am we flew to New York City for our first Performance at Dizzy’s Club Coke-a-Cola. This was a blast because the whole band had been wanting to go to New York for years and we finally made it there to perform.

The next morning after running 18 miles through the streets of Manhattan New York City I hopped a flight to New Orleans to begin another Thelonious Monk Institute tour. This tour is a but different though because it started off with the Institute making the annoucment that it is moving the graduate school program and the new class from USC California to Loyola University in New Orleans.

Here is the new class performing with Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter and Terrance Blanchard!

null

Here I am trading solos on the piano with Herbie Hancock (Bobby Watson on alto)!

null

Now Herbie and I switch roles and he shows me how it is supposed to be done with Wayne Shorter.

null

This tour is also special because it is a bules tour that is being featured all over Mississippi. Our first stop was Natchez,MS and it is country down here and I do mean country.

null

This is the bridge I ran to yesterday morning during my 10 mile run. It crosses over the Mississippi river into Louisiana.

null

Now today we did two different schools that have given us the best reception thus far to date. One of the schools we visited (Jim Hill high school) two years ago and some of the students remembered us and came prepared with questions and wanting autographs signed.

null

Here is Bobby Watson posing for the camera during one of our Master classes!

null

This last photo is from the last Monk tour I did in Texas during the month of February but the photographer just sent it to me a few days ago so I am putting it in this blog because I like it!

null

1 Comment »

  1. I got the pictures from the AFAR DC show that Geoff took. D has access to the server I put them on…way to large & way to many to email. They came out great! You can see some of the video on the above MySpace page too…………..oh yea.

    Everything cool?

    Later.
    -Mills

    Comment by Mills — April 15, 2007 @ 11:22 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

