Richard Doron Johnson

October 1, 2007

Toronto Half-Marathon 13.1 miles

Filed under: Life on the Road — rjjazz @ 1:01 pm

The Toronto Half- Marathon (13.1 miles) was a great race for me considering that I had a few issues during the race. The morning of the race for some reason I could not digest all of the pasta I had eaten the night before so I knew running on an upset stomach would be rough. Also I had been going back and forth all week between these new Brooks running flats I had gotten to try out and I decided after two training runs to race in them. This was a bad decision because after mile 7 the shoes did not have enough support for me and my I felt like I was running on my bare feet. Even with having to stop to go to the bathroom at mile 5, I still managed to run pretty decent splits and at the 10k mark and the 10 mile mark I was ahead of any previous time I had ever done in a race. By the time the race was over mentally I could not believe it because it felt like the shortest 13 miles I had ever run. I guess doing all the mileage I have done this summer can make a long 13 mile race turn into a short one. During the race I was not huffing and puffing at all so this race was basically a tempo run that I do every week once I looked at my heart rate and the overall time. Like I said earlier I am happy with the race because later that day I went out and did another 7 miles to make it an even 20 miles for the day. Right now I am in the best shape of my life and I am running great! The Toronto course and weather was awesome and I recommend it to any one out there who wants to run or walk.

Mile one of the marathon course in Toronto!

1 Comment »

  1. Howdy! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and
    say I really enjoy reading through your posts. Can you
    recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the
    same topics? Thanks a lot!

    Comment by Peyton Manning Jersey Authentic — December 13, 2012 @ 9:31 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

