Richard Doron Johnson

October 6, 2007

Quebec City

Filed under: 1 — rjjazz @ 11:24 pm

The city here is booming with tourism everywhere you look.

All the buildings and roads have that true European feel to it.

This is a view of one of the major hotels from below at the port.

Cobble stones make the world stand up!

A view of Quebec City from up above!

This is the grounds surrounded by the city fort. Everyday I would go for a 16 km run through here and everyday I would find something new to see. Quebec City has the only standing active fort in North America that is still  employing soldiers.

The boat is afloat.

This fountain greets you as you enter into the downtown area of Quebec City. It was a gift from France.

A view of New Orleans island. This island has 7000 people living on it and 14 police men. They have had no crime incidents this year and I am told the police are the nicest guys in North America too. The island is 21 miles long, 5 miles wide and has a suspension bridge leading to it similar to the Golden gate bridge only 1/4 the size.

A view of that huge hotel a little closer.

The local clock tower.

Samuel De Champlain the founder of Quebec city!

The city is alive!

These paintings on the buildings look oh so real to me.

What do you think?

This boat takes passengers across the river, back home all year around even in the winter when the water can freeze to 4 feet thick. A 15 minute ride in the winter can take up to 90 minutes.

The Queen Mary II happened to be in Port for the day so the downtown traffic was crazy with people wanting to stop and take photos.

Part of the fort that over sees the water.

Another live looking painting.

Time to get ahead!

Montmorency falls Is right outside the city of Quebec. That is right, it is 30 meters higher than Niagra Falls and when you see it live that 30 meters is a huge difference. I have had the pleasure of seeing both Falls in the past months and I can assure you that this one is even more amazing than Niagra.

I walked across this bridge and thought what would posses a person to go over it in a barrel? No person has every survived this Great falls.

Rough waters!

Bridge over troubled waters.

Thumbs up means it is photo time!

Don’t be scurrrred to look down!

Or you could just walk down if you don’t like the barrel idea.

View of the bridge crossing the water.

On my day trip we stopped at the local candy store and I just gazed through the window!

This road reminds me of a run I did back in Europe in June. I think it was in France, hummmmm?

One of our many stops was at this museum during the day.

This is all made of copper like everything else on display in this museum. The detail that has gone into most of these pieces of art has taken years.

This building called the “Cyclorama is the biggest 360 degrees painting in the world. It is incredible. It took 6 guys 4 years to make it working on it daily.

The artist even went to Jerusalem for a year to study the land layout to get it right before painting it.

Another view of the city!

The church of Saint-Ann’s took 53 years to complete!

These doors on the church weighed about twice as much as I do.

An inside look!

Can you see the detail on the ceiling?

Can you see the detail on the floor?

Wow!

This is the side of the church.

Information on the church!

Quebec city gets my vote for the most historic city I have seen on this tour by far. From the moment I stepped out of my car all you could see was monuments, churches, statues, and historic sites. I was very impressed with this location because it is the closest you can get to being in France without getting on a flight. Everyone here speaks French and maybe English. I am still in shock that I drove here and it is this close to the United States.

1 Comment »

  1. I would like to order a copy of the “bridge over troubled water” print. I have been looking for months for a specific print to give to the pastor of the church I go to. Is there any way to do this? Please email me and let me know. clemsongirl814@yahoo.com

    Comment by Liz Sanford — January 5, 2009 @ 12:23 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

