Richard Doron Johnson

October 20, 2007

Dallas, TX Part II

Filed under: 1 — rjjazz @ 2:17 am

This morning my run through the city of Garland ,TX was most enjoyable. My total mileage for the day was 9 miles. After running I was off to experience some more of Dallas’s sites. My first stop for the day was the “Dallas Museum of Art.” This was your typical Big City Art Museum. The museum has four different levels of art from 5 continents. I enjoyed the Oil on canvas Paintings the best since they seem to have the broadest exhibit. I spent about 2.5 hours here and would recommend this to high school students and people who do not get a chance to travel much outside of the United States. The total cost for this was $16 in conjunction with the Sculptors museums across the street. I give this museum a rating of an 8 out of 10 on my scale of things to do while Dallas, TX.

My favorite painting for the Year!

Standing Alone!

Does your bedroom look like this?

Double Trouble!

Across the street is located the Nascher sculptor museum. Now this was a great attraction! Most of the Art is outside and you can get an audible self guided tour that takes about 90 minutes to go through. Most of the art they have here is incredible and you could see immediately that most people had not seen anything like it before since they made multiple trips to the same sculptors. I highly recommend this to any new comers to the planet earth who have not been to Dallas, TX before. I give this a 9 out of 10 on my list of things to do while in Dallas, TX. The cost is $10.00 but you can get a discount if you also go to the Dallas Art museum as well total cost being for both being $16.00

Can you tell which people are real and which ones are not?

Can you see the man inside?

I thought I heard a little child ask “Is this Art mommy?”

This is my favorite piece for the year. It reminds me of someone special in a weird way!

My late afternoon stop involved me going to the Dallas World Aquarium. This was located over near the West End District. This Aquarium took me all of an hour to go through. I was not amazingly impressed with this Aquarium like when I went to the one in Denver, but if you have children it will serve the purpose of making them say “Wow look at that.” I did manage to get some good photos of creatures I had never been so close to before. The total coast was $18.95. I would give this Aquarium a 7 out of 10 on my scale of things to do in Dallas,TX

After the Aquarium I went by the Texas State Fair to see what all the hype was about. Once I arrived there I drove around it and there was a few attractions going on there but nothing that warranted me to stop and spend additional monies visiting. Therefore after careful deliberation of my time and hunger I decided to pass on this tourist attraction an begin making my way to Austin!

My total time spent in Dallas,TX was three days and I really felt I got a good understanding of what the city has to offer. From Frisco to Garland to Downtown Dallas I did my best to cover three attractions a day and not rush through them. Site seeing can become a full time job if your really keeping track of everything I am finding out. Between my morning runs and walking site seeing different cities some days I end up covering about 13-15 miles in one day consecutively. What can I say though, I am one of the few people learning about the world first hand and what it has to offer me so I can intern find out what I have to offer it!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

